Chocolate Bread et. Al

So as to continue my post from the week before, we will start with it and end in a different place. I mentioned to someone about my chocolate bread and sharp cheddar cheese combination, which was stellar. Forget regular grilled cheese.  Try chocolate bread with cheese grilled on a flat top.  YUMMY.  So the person equated that to BUN and CHEESE which is from Jamaica.  Similar idea as in not using traditional bread. Bun and Cheese  I had no idea about the Bun and Cheese thing, what is behind it.  I just knew of it in passing.

So in my ode to bread I point out that fresh bread daily is like water daily-gotta have it.  So when in  Lisbon, Portugal, I stay with a local so I am able to observe normal daily life and not the super tidy streets or directed traffic pattern etc of a modern, hotel driven possibly multinational behemoth industrial park with manicured lawns and fountains, super clean everything and possibly only chain stores familiar to expats.  I hope I set or rather unset the scene!

So every morning from about 6 (or earlier) till about 10 the bakeries sell fresh bread.  It is like a carrot dangling and you blindly walk into the light.  The smell is wonderful.  It is habit and culture.  Can you imagine if we did that here and we also changed it up from time to time to keep people excited about the product-what do we call that, OH YES BUZZZ!.  At these bakeries there are lines and once the bread is done :(.  You are basically out of luck by 10 am as it is the start of early lunch preparations though not the serving of it or its the mid morning coffee break and you head to a cafe close to work or close to home.  I missed the boat.  I chose to sleep past 9 and was hauling a… to get there before they closed up.

Another such bread experience was in the Philippines.  There is something called Pan de Sal, and it is great. It is a small roll that has a little sweetness but in a different way and they are sold warm and people get them by the dozens.  Forget the carb diet–does not exist.  I remember we were taking a road trip–6 of us and my daughter-toddler.  I think we got 2 or 3 dozen, that is basically 4 per person.  It was so good and the place is like a little kiosk–think Melissa’s Cupcakes and they can just turn it out hour after hour.  There is a limit as well so you have to go during certain times. pan de sal

A long winded idea, were I to have a windfall of cash, is to open a bakery/cafe but only selling fresh bread in the morning and selling desserts of my choosing in the night.  Why the F… not.  I mean in other countries bread is really integral in the culture and why not satiate that need or feeling.  HMMM.  My wheels are spinning.

So what have we learned–Bread is good and Fresh Bread is great.

 

 

Leave a Reply

