Cooking in my insta pot-the test

So I previously wrote about my apprehensiveness to using my insta pot.  I decided to have a dinner party for some new but great friends.  I would be letting my new apparatus take center stage.  The backup plan was to just order pizza or some kind of takeout close by.

I decided on Beef Bourguignon.  The last time I made that, I did it in a pot, there were not mushrooms or green peas and it took about 3 hours.  I made quite a bit and was able to enjoy it for days after.  So the  challenge was finding a tested recipe for the insta pot since I did not have time to test recipes.  I had to add some cooking time but I brokered a nice thick sauce, soft vegetables and somewhat flavorful meat.  The meat I did not season well with salt in the beginning.  On the whole, it came out okay. (25 minutes cooking time after you saute the meat and onions.)

Beef Bourg….. recipe I used plus peas

The second dish was made today.  It was some pork adobo.  It took about 10 minutes after sauteing.  My husband managed this and he kept me at arms length.  I tried to make suggestions and he basically asked me to put on my breaks (stop and relax).  I let him do his thing.    We had some rice and bananas with it along with some salad.  I topped it off with some sangria.

I must say I like a good meal and making food for my family. I am a professional home cook and foodie all in one.  This weekend, I did the beef, pork adobo, brownies and cookies, as well as some great sangria.  So why I am not a personal chef.  hmmmmm.

Until then, I give a thumbs up for the insta pot.  The next meal is pulled pork.  It will be exciting–burger buns, plus coleslaw and maybe some potato chips and the meal will be on.  We will keep going till we find something we can really brag about, also if it makes cooking easier, I am about that.

Not to mention I had a fancy Greek breakfast.  So, I had a feast weekend.

 

Leave a Reply

