Fall camp out minus camping 

A few weeks ago I had a small get together close to the waterfront in a park on a not so cold night. Actually a small get together in the end.  It was a good evening for cancellations.  I am not phased (except that I had to take home lots of food-no cooking for me) but if you are cancelling, give reasonable time unless you are in the hospital, have been called into work, got into an accident or your car broke down. It’s just a small amount of courtesy. It allows us to scale our preparation and eventual anticipation. No worries though.  At least it was not a 250$ a plate wedding.  That is just cause for unfriending.  🙂

We tried this for the first time and it went 80% as planned.  A few friends made it and one bought her son whom my daughter is getting used to, a new BFF of sorts.

So the fun part was cooking the food and then getting reactions after.  I must admit that some were firsts but they came out okay.  Here was the menu and lay out.

3 tables

1-set of supplies

2-snacks, drinks, s’mores supplies

3-eating (though we ate largely where we stood)

Food

Beef stew (French style)-almost burned the stew at home but got to it just in time

Pumpkin Stew (had some  less than flavorful pumpkin but I fixed it with a mix of very yellow and pungent pumpkin)

Corn Chowder-I never realized how much corn  I would eventually put in this dish–half a bag of frozen corn and 2 tins of creamed corn.

Mac and cheese (a little less cheesy than I would have liked it).  I had grated about a cup more but decided not to add it.  Well I guess that was not a great decision. I even put bacon, but it is all in the cheese.  A little more bacon would have been cool as well.

Apple Crisp-it was somewhat healthy as I used Kashi for my granola. After I added the butter and sugar well all bets were off.

I also made Apple Cider and that was a hit.  It was really thick and I had watered it down previously.  It was nice warmed up on the grill and smelled wonderful.  I added orange peal and clove.  Oh it was special.

A friend bought fried chicken and another bought some other soups.

What I wanted was the s’mores but I was quickly disappointed.  The store brand graham crackers was not like the brand “Honey Maid,” by Nabisco. I remembered the days of scouting and that being the thing (s’mores) to look forward to.  It was the only piece of heaven when sleeping in a tent in cold temperatures and having to go to the potty about 5 minutes walk away in near darkness–yeah the buddy system was invented for that.  (I kid, not a direct connection that I know of.)

Idea for next year–only two hot dishes, s’mores (better ingredients) and apple cider.

Apple Cider is great.  I drank that for two weeks after.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

