Bread trials and tribulations

I was never a bread baker and to my knowledge my mom still is not either.  She was used to making one kind of bread and would occasionally strike out and make a regular white loaf.  Well in my time at home (maternity leave) I have been experimenting with different breads.  I am trying to find easy ones that can add some flavor.  (I must confess, I worked at a company that made fresh bread everyday so I was able to have a variety of breads often and would share the wealth with my mom and sister from time to time.)

So I started with a regular white bread.  I moved on to the what they call “health bread” also know as whole wheat bread.  I moved on to Anadama bread, which has cornmeal in it.  It is a denser cornbread, or rather dense bread with a hint of corn texture and color.  I liked it.  It was done in a cake pan rather than a loaf pan. My latest bread was a brioche.  So I think I did not “kill it.”  It has a slight brioche texture and the taste was brioche-ish.  When I first put it in the oven after 5 minutes I remembered the egg wash.  OMG, how do you forget that.  It is like taking the cake to the party and forgetting the frosting, Well maybe not that extreme but maybe the candles or to put the name and message on the cake. In that scenario you are using parchment paper cones to pen some melted chocolate that you found in local supermarket to quickly put the name, even, on the cake two minutes before the happy birthday song.  Life is exciting.

Cooking always amazes me, makes me laugh and makes me cry, but it never has a dull moment.  Case in point–already prepping all the ingredients including salt and forgetting that, so therefore adding a second round of salt.  Here is the kicker–not adding the sugar..

So I have to try the Brioche again.  I tried it in the distant past but it took a while and since then I was turned off by the Brioche process.  At that point, I would go to a bakery in search of it.

Oh and to come I will let you know about a new bread to me.  So the story goes–I have left over canned white beans (Filipino dessert ingredient), a lot and what will I do with them??  I could wait till we have HALO HALO again but  we have more than enough.  I thought maybe a cake or bread possibly.  I found a recipe for White Bean bread.  It is like a regular bread but has about a cup to 2 cups of beans. I found a few versions.  It is protein packed so that is always good.

Until then–bread power!!!

_________________________________________________________

Here is the Anadama bread recipe–Sharing is caring

adapted from Beard on Bread by James Beard

Ingredients

  • 1 package active dry yeast
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups warm water
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 1/2 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 4 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

Instructions

  1. In a large bowl, dissolve the yeast and sugar in 1/4 cup warm water and let sit for 5 minutes until foamy. Combine the remaining water, butter, molasses, and salt in a saucepan and heat to lukewarm. Stir into the yeast mixture. Add the cornmeal and mix well. Add the flour, one cup at a time, and beat vigorously; the dough will be sticky and hard to mix.
  2. Turn dough out onto a floured board. Begin kneading with well-floured hands, adding flour sparingly to achieve a smooth dough that is springy to the touch. The dough will still be a bit sticky. Shape into a ball, put in a buttered bowl. Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 2 hours.
  3. Punch the dough down. Shape into one loaf for a 10 inch pan or two loaves for two 8×4 inch pans. Cover and rise until doubled, about 1 hour.
  4. Bake in a preheated 425 degree oven for 10 minutes, then lower the temperature to 325 and bake for 35 minutes more. The loaves will sound hollow when tapped on the bottom and top. Remove from the oven and cool on a rack in the pan for 1 hour, then remove from pan and cool completely.

If you want the bean bread recipe, let know.

Leave a Reply

