Valentines Day 2015-retrospective

Places in the running to take my husband out to (a look back)
Lady Mendl (made a reservation and cancelled)
Podunk (almost got a reservation but was turned off by it not having a restroom)
Tea and Sympathy (in the running till the end)
Equus Restaurant (reserved and went)
The Pierre Hotel (oh how posh that would have been–same price but we would have to be on our best behavior)
The Kings Carriage House (cute, somewhat fancy but no people watching compared to The Pierre)

So I was seeking something very specific-afternoon tea. I recently learned of its beginning and that it is different from High Tea.

http://oldfashionedliving.com/lowtea.html

http://britishfood.about.com/od/diningdrinkingtradition/a/Tea.htm

All this time and I did not even know. I have been watching or rather started watching a show called ‘Escape to the Country’ and it’s all about house hunting in the UK on mostly ridiculous budgets.  On one episode they went to the place where afternoon tea began and the host actually went to one.  It was so interesting and I was like I need to experience that. (I spent time in London as a student and visiting my relations there but it was such a long time ago and I could not even remember the specifics.)

So long and short of things, I was seeking afternoon tea.

So how did I choose the horse place????
Well I needed a specific time. Some of the places or most rather had it between 3:30 and 5:30–my babysitter needed to be home by then.  Also the first place Lady M, was pretty expensive and I somewhat let someone else’s view sway me away. So I cancelled that. And I thought maybe I’ll go local, after eliminating a bunch I came to Equus, which used to have it but stopped it a while back. By this time I had already spent so much time researching and rereading reviews and was afraid not to get anything set up so I decided to make a reservation at the horse place. I figured I could cancel if necessary and had up until the night before. I was thinking of going to Tea and Sympathy and hitting the British store next door. We would then splurge a bunch of money on digestives, chocolates, tea, etc. But in my mind I knew it would be really crowded and we would have to wait. It was really cold-polar vortex squared. It was late into the night I decided we would go local.  The back story is that I was on the fence a whole week before and one thing swayed me to the horse place.  AMEX has gift cards that are in partnership with OPENTABLE-a discount rather.  So I had points to burn and well, I figured free money would help me splurge at this restaurant.  (Use your resources, don’t be ashamed.–If it was more I would have dropped 125$ worth of cards. I only used $75 worth.  LOL)  So I was a high roller, dropping 125 for brunch, which actually turned out to be  a ton of food, such that by the second course I was almost done before beginning.  So did I get my money’s worth, probably.  The location was awesome and I can see why people pay to go there–I am not to be included in the term “people.” 🙂

In the end the horse place (aka EQUUS at the Castle Hotel & Spa) was decent. 6/10 I have had better duck. My husband’s fluke was good.  The dessert was good but I am not a cream person so would have enjoyed the Sticky Toffee Pudding- Toasted Vanilla Brûlée Paste, Chai Jelly and Vanilla Ice Cream.

See the pictures below.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

