good food gone bad

4) La Vie: Minetta Tavern chefs Riad Nasr and Lee Hanson created a mini Parisian Bistro serving French country classics. Great for a drink, a coffee, or a full-fledged meal. [Terminal 5, post-security], Marketplace This little blip was found online on the JFK page.

Case number 1

Sad Portabello Sandwich
Sad Portabello Sandwich

photo 2
Portobello Sandwich at La Vie in JFK terminal 5.
So on our way to our vacation we figured we would catch some food before our flight, even though we would eat on our flight. However, that was to be 2 hours away and then we would have 1 hour on the plane of drinks and the special peanuts snack. (you know what I am talking about)

There is this weird set up at Terminal 5 but it seems that it was made to be more efficient–one place to check in and one place to cook. So I wanted one thing and my husband wanted something else. He had his dish from Piquillo-a steak sandwich. I had my Portabello sandwich from La Vie. (all cooked in the same kitchen–check next time you go, see where they all come from with food) I thought why not have something tasty, that would leave me feeling not too full but at least satisfied. So in the end my sandwich was weak. I had lots of bread and little filling, and on top of that-a plate of fries–carb-olicious. This was our last meal–we were hurt. At least the plane food was good. I love plane food. Even if it is not that good, especially on international flights, there is lots of it. Hoarders Anonymous!!!

Case number 2

Gustorganics--good try
Gustorganics–good try

photo 2

photo 3

Beet Ravioli at Gustorganics
This one has an interesting story behind it. In the end though, I ended up eating beets (crispy as hell), with carrot puree in between, then sprinkled with pistachios and sauced with the same, with some arugula for added good measure. Okay so I wanted to be healthy and the like, and to fit it, but after I started eating I realized that I could not waste it so I patiently chewed and washed it down with the butternut squash soup(not that awesome). All of this occurred while my dinner date ate what looked like a sumptuous dish of chicken and sweet potato chips.

Case number 3

Biscotti Bites--no biting allowed
Biscotti Bites–no biting allowed

photo 2
Cookies from Whole Foods.
I thought I was going to give a shout out to this company as I love cookies. I like biscotti and this product was supposed to be just as good:crispy and flavorful. Well sorry to disappoint, it was none of the above. So I bought it a few weeks back while doing a little day out in NYC. It was on a Sunday and I opened it a week later. So it was supposedly well sealed. When I opened it, the cookies were soft and the taste was kind of plain. I paid about 5 or 6 dollars and well–I could have bought the cookies they provide by the pound at Whole Foods. So I have to gave a low brow shout out to THE BITES COMPANY on their biscotti bites. Come better next time. It reminded me of an episode I watched of Apprentice UK. The group had to create a meal that would fit a certain age group. In the end the group failed on taste. With the promise to spice up the taste (literally) they won the business.

Oh well, maybe next time. You can’t win them all. 😦
All this makes you want to go out and have a make up meal (make up for the questionable meal you had–you have to cleanse the palette.) That is what I did a few days later. 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

