Sammy’s Fish Box-City Island NY

So Sammy’s Fishbox, was the meeting place of a little Graduation Celebration for a certain someone.
Sammy’s Fish Box, part of the Sammy’s “Group” of City Island (at the end of City Island), a suburb in the Bronx, was a somewhat fitting place. We had great weather and we had window seating you can say.

A group of about 30 people proceeded to have the Silver Package. We started with a boule (bread that looks like a giant Hershey Kiss without the curl on top), accompanied by pickled vegetables and cheese. Then we each had a salad, with dressing of our choosing. For the main course, now that you are half full, hmmm. What to eat, what to eat!!

Do I go the fatty route and have fried anything, except fried chicken? Do I go the Italian route (in a seafood restaurant at that) and have pasta with lots of cheese? I am not a clam or oyster person so not going that seafood Italian way. Do I go Southern and have bbq chicken or do I go Texan style and have the ribs and chicken combo? Serious ribs at Blue Smoke in city-thought I would interject that)

So what did the various people get?. chicken and ribs combo-looked good, the bbq chicken-seemed good as it was gone quick, fried shrimp-a plate cleaner, then I got the chicken Parmesan–yes chicken parm in a seafood restaurant. I even passed up the simply done salmon, which I hear was okay, but that may have been a gesture of niceness. I actually enjoyed my meal for what it was but I have had thicker juicy chicken, with pasta on the side. Though with this dish pasta on the side would have been a tad ridiculous. The cheese on the meat was something I had been wanting for a while, it is filling. I once paid over 15$ (maybe over 20) for chicken parm, 3-Cheese Chicken Parmigiana spaghetti pomodoro at Brooklyn Diner (check out the spelling of Parmesan). That was okay just as this way okay. I have to say that this sauce was somewhat better. It was thick and hearty.
The sides for the table were potatoes, corn and yellow rice. I took most of my meal home -not because it was excellent, but because I could not finish and did not want to waste.

Overall I have to give the place a 5.5.
Here is why:
service-decent
getting to the table–like a maze
the food-decent portions
the menu-super large, who wants that many choices (check it out http://www.sammysfishbox.com/menu.html)
the food–decent temperature when it comes out

the over head P.A. system-it is the 2000s, please do not announce or call out your employees over the system and sometimes it was muffled (JUAN PLEASE STOP WHAT YOU ARE DOING AND RETURN TO THE KITCHEN IMMEDIATELY) Are we at a race track or is this the subway? get ear pieces please

having a paper menu for each table (1 per table) versus one per seating or reciting the menu to a group of people (if doing 10 times is annoying)

plastic cups-like reusable bear cups: can’t splurge for glass or better plastic. I realize they probably had to clean up one too many shards of glass but then at least give a decent.

I am not griping on the place. I was very glad to be included. For me free food is amazing. In other countries, people slave away for food and still do not get it. I am fortunate and to not have to want, is nice.

Would I visit again, of course. Sometimes a comfortable, familiar unpretentious average place is what you need to just enjoy the moment.

Thanks for listening. Enjoy the pictures.

Leave a Reply

