Cooking for others-Bistec Encebollado and Chicken a la Calabrese

So when you have to cook for others, you always want something interesting and you always want it to be memorable. Well I tried Bistec.
It is Spanish style thinly cut steak cooked with onions. Well I tried it on my customer, not even myself first. It came out okay I think. I hope my customers give me their honest opinions as I present these dishes. I had an extra steak and so I made it a few days later. Well I was halfway done (only at that point did I realize it. I needed to go a little longer.) Then I let the onions caramelize and it was great with the steak. I still do not know if my steak was good but I will try again. The customers are okay but I want them to be really glad and happy that I cook for them. We may try again this week at home but it will be for me.

HERE IS THE RECIPE I USED. PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF YOU TRY IT.
How to Make Grandma’s Bistec Encebollao-Spanish Steak

Spanish Steak with White Rice and Beans
I love cooking with my grandma and mother. We make our favorite home cooking and desserts from scratch.

Which I plan to share with you.
Difficulty:
Moderate
Instructions
things you’ll need:
• 2 pounds thinly cut beef steak
• 1/2 cup olive oil
• 2 tsp minced garlic
• dash of dried oregano leaves or oregano powder
• 2 large white Spanish onions, sliced into rings
• 1/4 cup white vinegar
• 1 cup of water
• 1 tsp. salt
• gallon-Ziplock bag
• heavy skillet
1.
o 1
In a bowl you are going to mix well the following ingredients: 1/2 cup of olive, 2 tblspns. of minced garlic, the oregano leaves or the dash of oregano powder, 2 large sliced onion rings, 1/4 cup of vinegar, 1 cup of water and tblspn of salt.
o 2
After all the ingredients are mixed well place into the gallon sized zip lock bag along with the 2 lbs. of thinly sliced beef steak.
o 3
Refrigerate zip lock bag for about 5 hours or overnight for best taste.
o 4
Remove from refrigerator and place contents into the large heavy skillet. First bring to a bowl, then lower the heat to low. Cover and cook at a low heat for about 40 minutes or until meat is tender.
o 5
Serve over your favorite rice, in a hoagie, or favorite food.

Kitchen un-confidential: I was low on time and tried to put together a chicken a la calabrese dish. (We ate with Fettuccine–yummy) This time, it was like a soupy mess. I boiled the meat in spice and then put in the oven with tomato sauce, peppers and onions. You know when you have a kind of watery, not so strong taste–that is what I had. The cooking just needed to be tightened up–but I was also baking so I had no time to really do it as normal.

Chicken a la Clabrese

Next time we will do it right.
Ciao and happy cooking!!!!**

Leave a Reply

