Dad’s Wacky Cake- from Cakes and Cupcakes book, Hearst Books

Okay, so I wanted to try a non complicated chocolate cake. I also wanted one that was really tasty. So I went through my cake book. I have tons of other cake recipes but this one was easy to find as it is a dedicated book. Be ware-this cake has no egg and very little butter so if you plan to do “creaming” or mixing forget it. I was also kind of doubtful of their approach so I made a few changes.

here is their recipe and then below is mine

1.5 cups of a/p flour 1 tblsp distilled white vinegar
1 cup sugar 1 tsp vanilla extract
3 tblsps cocoa powder 1 cup cold water
1 tsp baking powder 1 cup semisweet chocolate minichips
1 tsp baking soda vanilla ice cream (for the end my dears)
1/2 tsp salt
5 tblsps butter, melted

1) oven to 350, sift flour, sugar, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, and salt into a 10X7″, 8″ sq or 9″ sq pan. with index finger make 3 holes in flour mix. pour batter into one hole, vinegar into another, vanilla into another. pour cold water over all, stir all until well combined. (NO EGG)

2) bake 25-30 mins or until center is clean. immediately top with chocolate chips and bake 2-3 minutes or until softened

3) with spatula spread chips evenly over top of cake. cool in pan on wire rack.

Adjusted to what I had and my doubtful nature.

I mixed all together (flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt). Then instead of cocoa powder (as I only had hot chocolate mix) I used semisweet chocolate, about 2 ozs and about a handful of butterscotch chips. I put the butter in a small sauce pan and melted it, then added the chocolate, mixed, and then added the butterscotch. I added that mixture to the dry goods and also at the same time added the water. Then I mixed well. I also added about 1 tblsp of fudge powder.

I poured into a muffin pan but it is more appropriate for a cake pan. At the end I tried the chips thing and it did not work well with the muffin pan. ( had taken them out of the pan and was going to do one by one) With a cake pan it can take the pressure of the spreading of the chocolate chips, which have to be almost melted and that may take more than 2-3 minutes. Melted-in the way that it basically loses form when you touch it, not runny like chocolate syrup. If that happens, your cake is probably burned.

Someone needs to try this and tell me what they get following the original recipe. If you try my way, tell me what happens. I DID NOT USE THE VINEGAR AND COCOA POWDER.

Chocolate Dreams. Ciao.

Leave a Reply

