Salmon Ravioli* and Duck Ravioli*

On my day off I tried making ravioli* using egg roll wraps. I had seen a few recipes using wanton wraps but since I neglected to get them in China town when I was there recently I had to settle for the egg roll wraps I had. This would be my experiment/trial for the week.

Okay so the salmon ones came out okay–I am not so excited about them. The duck ones were great even cold. I made a soy sauce, Teriyaki, scallions, garlic, onions, stock and maple syrup mix to dip it into. I made a sauce for the salmon as well–sun-dried tomatoes, regular tomatoes, roasted red peppers, garlic, ginger, tiny bit of cilantro and some stock. The ravioli* came out more like flat dumplings. They still had the basic shape and you can still do the ricotta etc. I used cream cheese. Next time I will use the Wanton wraps.

Why were the egg roll wraps so hilarious? Well they crumble basically when water (too much) touches them. I wet it so that the sheets could stick together and sometimes I drenched it and it was like a wet tissue. I dropped two into a pot of boiling water. I thought I would try this way first as the recipe I saw had them looking flat but not crisp. So I went to take one out of the water, and well, it fell apart. Part of the excess flat around the edge just began to tear. It was then that I put on the frying pan I had on reserve, as this was a trials day–who knew what and if anything would work.

So I fried them all from then on. Pretty good! I think that at this point they can be mixed together with sauce. I hope they are thick enough and don’t come apart in the sauce. We will try that next time.

Whilst I played with my wraps, my bf made a few batches of Strawberry Basil Lemonade. He enjoys playing in the kitchen as well. 🙂

Ciao for now.

One thought on “Salmon Ravioli* and Duck Ravioli*

Leave a Reply

