week 1 externship

SO I ARRIVE TO MY INTERNSHIP SITE. I CHANGE IN THE BATHROOM, ONLY PART WAY AS THIS WAS THE ONLY TOILET FOR A BUNCH OF PEOPLE. WHEN I GET MY PANTS AND T-SHIRT ON I GO OUTSIDE TO PUT MY SHOES AND JACKET ON. I LEFT MY BAG OUTSIDE ON THE BENCH AS THERE WERE NO FREE LOCKERS. I GUESS I WAS MORE TRUSTING THAN THE AVERAGE NEW YORKER. I COULD HAVE HAD MY THINGS TAKEN WERE THE CROWD AWARE THAT MY BAG WAS THERE.

SO I GET UP STAIRS AND START ASKING FOR THINGS TO DO. MY FIRST TASK AFTER CHECKING OUT THE NEW FACES WAS TO CUT UP ROASTED RED TOMATOES. I DID THAT FOR ABOUT A HALF AN HOUR-A HALF HOTEL PAN WORTH. THEN THE CHEF GAVE ME A TASK. I WATCHED HIM SMALL DICE THE PINEAPPLES, THEN THE ONIONS, THEN CHOPPED THE SCALLIONS AND FINALLY HE ASKED ME TO DO THE MINT. I GOT TO DO A SECOND BATCH-PINEAPPLE, ONIONS, SCALLIONS, AND MINT. I THOUGH IT WAS JUST A BUSY TASK, BUT IT WAS TO GO WITH THE COCONUT SHRIMP, SO IT WAS NOT JUST A BUSY TASK. (PARTY HORS D’ OEUVRES). ONTO THE NEXT TASK OF JUST GENERAL ASSISTANCE. I WAS HALF AND HALF-HALF IN THE WAY AND HALF HELPFUL.

IT WAS WILD IN THERE. THE NEW GUY (GARDE MANGER) HAD ONLY BEEN THERE 2 DAYS SO HE WAS IN THE SAME PLACE I WAS. THERE WAS AN EVENT GOING ON AND THEY SERVED THIS DISH WHICH WAS PRETTY AND A TAKE ON SUSHI BUT THERE WERE LITTLE TAKERS. IT WAS LIKE A TIMBALE OF AVOCADO, SESAME TUNA AND THEN MANGO, WITH SOME SOY, SESAME AND MANGO SAUCE ON TOP OF THAT. HERE IS THE PROBLEM-THE TIMBALES WERE PUT INSIDE OF A DISH WITH SIDES AND THEN THERE WAS NO SPOON TO EAT IT WITH (SUITS NEVER EAT WITH THEIR FINGERS), AND THEN YOU COULD NOT SEE THE WHOLE APPETIZER AS IT WAS HIDDEN IN THE BOWL. THE FOOD SHOULD FIT THE CROWD. SO LOGISTICS AND THEN THE CROWD MIX MAY NOT HAVE BEEN APPROPRIATE. MOST PEOPLE AT CERTAIN EVENTS ARE JUST INTERESTED IN DRINKING, TALKING AND NETWORKING.

I LEFT AT 9:30PM. I WAS HOT, KIND OF HUNGRY AND THE EXCITEMENT HAD DIED DOWN. I TOPPED IT OFF WITH SOME NON GOURMET FOOD-WHITE CASTLE. THE PLACE I AM EXTERNING IS NOT 100% GOURMET, BUT A NICE PLATE CAN MAKE ANYTHING LOOK NICE. INGREDIENTS AND PREPARATION TECHNIQUES PUT FOODS IN VARIOUS CATEGORIES. TASTE IS MOST IMPORTANT THOUGH.

THE MENU WAS SURF N TURF-LOBSTER TAIL AND FILET MIGNON, CHILEAN SEAS BASS, NY STRIP, AND CHICKEN CARPARIELLIO. PORTIONS WERE HUGE. ON THE SIDE WAS VEGETABLES OR FRIES. THE PORTIONS AS MENTIONED BEFORE ARE SO HUGE. IT IS HARD TO KNOW IF THERE IS PROFIT. IF THE DISHES ARE NOT COSTED RIGHT THEN THERE IS LOSS OF MONEY AND THAT WILL ONLY BE SEEN A FEW MONTHS DOWN THE ROAD.

Friday was a repeat of Thursday. There were more people there on Friday and it was again reminiscent of a club. I watched the guys make salads, and put out desserts. I also watched the cooks do a few dishes. I also made pineapple salsa. The chef advised that I leave my knives at home. I ended up staying a little later as it was Friday aS rushing out would look so bad. However, when I am ready to leave, I make sure that I do it as fast as possible. I left a little before ten pm. I knew I had to be back by nine in the morning.

So I was back before nine in the morning. I waited outside and did not see anyone. I decided to just walk around the back and see if any of the lights were on or if the take-out door was open. I noticed that the kitchen door was open and the roll away fence was cracked open, so I went inside and the cleaner guy was there. I had effectively beat all the staff in and I was even there in the vicinity before them. I changed and took the opportunity to tour the place, all three floors. Some people arrived around 9:30 and then 9:45 and then finally at 10 there were more takers. It is like arriving home and there are no adults to watch you.

I did a bunch of things—clean large shrimp, made brownies (funny story), made meat ready for freezing (vacuum sealing), made garlic bread, made salsa, and helped to prepare dishes. They made a good ham and egg sandwich for lunch—yum.

So it was cool. At the end of the day I met the owner and he threw his weight around and so it is something to think about. I am not sure what I really want to do so I am entertaining all opportunities. I shook his hand and then asked for a second shake for the second proposal. It is quite a ways away so who knows what I would like to do by then. I am still trying to break into the personal cooking business. I will continue to read and refine myself in the mean time. I need to try some stuff. Lets just say that now that they have taken notice, I really need to be on top of my game and be all I can be. 

T out for now–week two looms.

Leave a Reply

