Plating at James Beard with the Sunshine State Boys

This was a different experience. There was a husband and wife team and then 3 other chefs. I thought at first that they were all part of a franchise, but they were just people who knew each other. They made cool dishes. My favorite was the potato ( I think ) disks, with the seafood on top. It was pretty. You just wanted to admire it. I also got a kick out of the hush puppies made with frog legs. Yup-I tried not to focus but slopped it down, and it was pretty good. As my past teacher said, anything fried is good. 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It almost warrants a trip to Florida.

So the pictures are of a large-scale production. Some items are complete, others are in between processes and then there is the layout phase-the calm before the storm. It is truly fun to cook, then to present and finally relax. It is nice because it is like a little project each time with a definite planning, beginning and end–soon, rather than sometime in the future. I somewhat like to have ends to things.

So if you will be visiting Orlando, or Miami any time soon, let me know, I can send you the restaurant information.

Ciao, and sunny days, on behalf of the guys from the sunshine state.

Leave a Reply

